Homemade Scrapbooking Kit for Counterfeit Kit Challenge

Hello (again) – this is the second post of the day! I know right, I am busy busy crafting! lol

This is such a special post and a special month for me! This month I am the guest designer for Counterfeit Kit Challenge (CKC). If you don’t know about the Counterfeit Kit Challenge Blog, it’s a blog where you use kit clubs as inspiration to make your own scrapbooking kit from your stash of supplies.

I had loved playing with CKC – I love making homemade kits from my stash. I have shared so many on my blog last year, but I have not been making any for a while now. I was away from home last summer and I moved my craft room when I came back last Christmas and my things were everywhere.  Naturally, the easiest was to just craft with the paper pads and my scrap bin that was on my desk all these time.

So this is really a wonderful opportunity to use my stash and I found out I still have a lot of pretty patterned papers that I had forgotten about.

This month’s inspiration is from The Papier Werkstatt.

Monatskit – papierwerkstatt – März 2016

I created my kit – La bohème. (No, not the opera 🙂 – it’s that just my kit had the bohemian feel to it.

August CKC Homemade Kit 2016

La bohème

My kits usually  differ a lot from the kit inspiration because how I usually build my homemade kit is I pick ONE patterned paper from the kit inspiration and go from there, but this time I went with the cardstocks and specialty papers from the kit inspiration.

La bohème kit - start with cardstock

Supplies:  Cardstock: Craft Smith      Mulberry Paper: Daiso Japanese Handmade Paper

I had some neutrals and added the lovely white and cream mulberry specialty paper. I hoarded those handmade papers forever because they feel so nice and I just love the texture.

From there I added to my kit some vintage-style patterned papers. La bohème kit

Supplies:    Patterned papers: My Mind’s Eye, DCWV, Pressed Petal

But it’s really a lot of browns – so I have to add in more of my favorite color : PINK. La bohème kit

Supplies:    Patterned papers: My Mind’s Eye

For the embellishments, I recently got this cool ephemera pack from Michaels – it’s from the Recollections Boho collection (hence the name and theme for my kit this month)La bohème kit

Supplies:  Ephemera pack- Recollections Boho, Tags-Craft Smith, Rub ons- Basic Grey, Ribbons – May Arts, Flowers – Recollections

I picked out mostly the pinks and yellows to add the pop of color I needed for those browns. I added some ribbons and kraft tags that would go with the color scheme of the kit.

21 thoughts on “Homemade Scrapbooking Kit for Counterfeit Kit Challenge

  1. Welcome along to play Karen and what a stunning kit you have pulled together. The colours just jump out and say “happy” and I look forward to seeing your fabulous creations during the month 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh Karen this is such a pretty kit and you picked the perfect name for it too! The colors and patterns have a very free-spirited vibe and they blend so well with the vintage and neutral backgrounds. So happy to have you with us this month and I’m really looking forward to seeing what you create with your kit!

    Like

  3. Thrilled to have you on board this month Karen and you’ve really created a gorgeous kit full of inspiring colours and product. I like the way you pulled your kit around the cardstock – I used to do that before I started limiting myself to white and cream! I love those bright, bold pops of colour and the way you really took it in a summer direction. I think you will get a wide range of scrummy pages with these products!

    Like

  4. Clapping my hands! SO happy that you are with us on the DT this month. I saw & partook of some of that yummy Boho line at Michael’s (now what did I DO with that?) & agree it is perfect to liven up your kit. Love that you named your kit so well! I would definitely buy your kit : )

    Like

  5. Congrats on being GD this month 🙂 So I love the take you took on the kit and your added little touch of pink 🙂 The little added pop of colors goes well with the kit 🙂 Looking forward to seeing what you create with it 🙂

    Like

  6. This is a beautiful kit! I love the bohmeian feel to it. I can’t wait to see what you come up with this month using all that loveliness!

    Like

  7. You definitely have captured that boho vibe with your kit. I like your approach of just choosing one thing from the inspo. and then taking it your own direction. I love that bird paper. I think I have the coordinating chipboard pieces! Have fun and so glad you are joining us this month.

    Like

  8. Beautiful kit! I love how you took a bit more colorful direction with your kit, balancing the browns with the brighter pink and yellow of the embellies and the lime green of the bird paper.

    Like

Leave a Comment