Counterfeit Kit Challenge – Forgery Paper

Hello everyone! On the 4th of every month the Counterfeit Kit Challenge has “Forgeries on the Fourth” on the blog. It has tutorials and inspiration of creating DIY version of the inspiration kit using your own stash.

From the inspiration kit – there was this kraft paper with the PLUS sign that caught my eye. 1

I created my own patterned paper using kraft cardstock and a stencil. (I already had the stencil cut out from my Cameo previously in my stash) I wanted a bit more texture so I used textured paste. You can most definitely use just paint or inks or markers.

IMG_0971

Somehow it didn’t turn out too neatly and there were some gaps since it was a smaller stencil. If you want a continuous pattern with a smaller stencil, you will have to wait for the texture paste to dry before continuing. I was going to cut the paper in smaller pieces  for my projects anyway so it’s okay to have the gaps and the smudges probably will be covered up.IMG_0987

I created this layout with my kit – and use this forgery as a photo mat.

counterfeit kit challenge cutie scrapbook layout

I started painting some white brushstrokes on a brown cardstock just for some interest and added some yellow paint with a polka dot stencil to add some color and life to my layout. I also added some splatters because splatters are fun. Then I cut the circles from a freebie from Scrapbooks & Cards Today.

I used some of my washi tape and adhered them to white copy paper and used them as patterned paper since I really wanted more colors in my layout. If you go back to my post of the kit I created, I didn’t have enough colors. Some of the colors of my embellishments didn’t really go well with my layout. So other ways to add color, can be paint, inks or washi tape in this case.

I love the cute little trim too and I kept turning the little ‘poms poms ‘ for fun. I added journaling with my Sakura gel pen on to my layout. I backed the whole layout on a piece of patterned paper that wasn’t from the kit I created but it’s from my stash, and best of all it was actually a Christmas gingerbread man patterned paper. I used it more for the scripty pattern and muted color showing as a frame, so it was quite fun I got it used up.

counterfeit kit challenge cutie scrapbook layout

counterfeit kit challenge cutie scrapbook layout

As for the remaining DIY patterned paper, I will probably use them in other projects this month. That’s it for today! Hope you will share something that you counterfeit for your kit! I would love to see it! Thanks for stopping by! Happy crafting!

11 thoughts on “Counterfeit Kit Challenge – Forgery Paper

  1. The counterfeit paper looks great and I like the way you used it in the layout as a layer 🙂 The mix media background looks great too

    Like

Leave a Comment

