Mixed media layout – ‘Such fun times’ Scrapbook layout

Hello! Happy Monday to you – hope your day is going well for you and that you had a wonderful weekend!

Today I have a mixed media layout to share with you :

IMG_0805-001

This layout is inspired by Scrapbook Challenges and this is the sketch on Scrapbook Challenges:

sketch 489 july 11

This was a really fun & messy layout to play with and I am so happy at how it turned out. I am trying my hand at more mixed media layout in my scrapbooking as I am currently taking some of Wilna Furstenberg‘s classes on iheartstudio.ca  so the style of the layout is also inspired by the art journal style in scrapbooking.

To create the background, I actually used a cardstock that I put away after I painted pink paint on it for a previous project. It just didn’t work out for me because I didn’t like how the paint strokes were on the cardstock. I didn’t want to throw it out because that would be wasteful and I convinced myself that I might be able to create something out of it later.

So for my layout, I started by adding some texture paste through a stencil that had different words on it. Once that is dry, I misted some aqua spray with a polka dot stencil but it didn’t turn out the way I like it.So once it dry, I added yellow paint through the polka dot stencil and also dab it around some of the pink paint area that I didn’t like.  Then I added my photos, I placed my photos on the right side of the layout mainly to cover the part where I didn’t like how the paint and the mist turned out. I also added the flourishes from Wilna’s Spring collection vertically behind the photos to create a place for my photos to sit on. Then I added some markings like how Wilna does them in her videos to add extra interest.

I stamped some faux stitched lines horizontally as inspired by the sketch and also to add some balance to the layout and added my title . Then I also adhered some tags with twine tied to it. I finished my layout with some splatters and stamped the date at the right hand corner where I usually like to add my date of when the photo was taken.

So I am glad at how fun this layout turned out to be, and I didn’t waste my cardstock and I challenged myself to really use the art journal style of scrapbooking. (my ‘never-throw-anything-away’ hoarding actually work out really well for this layout) The key is really, the layers in building the layout.

More close up pictures:

IMG_0814

The texture paste is a little bit messy and smudged but I am fine with it, since it’s really more for interest and texture.
Mixed media layout - Such fun time scrapbook layout close up

Mixed media layout - Such fun time scrapbook layout close up

I added some #words to my journaling tag that I usually use when I upload it to my social media which I thought was pretty fun. We also have another challenge going on at Scrapbook Challenges which is really fun. So I was inspired to use my # in my journaling instead of my title.

hastag july 11

I hope you will give these challenges a try and hop over to Scrapbook Challenges for more inspiration! We would love to see your creations. Thank you so much for stopping by – Happy crafting!

Leave a Comment

