Scrapbook Challenges: New challenge & Sketch Crew Annoucement

Hello everyone! I am so excited to announce that I joined the Scrapbook Challenges (SBC) Sketch Crew! It is a scrapbooking challenge blog where new sketches are up on Mondays. Then on Wednesdays there will be fun and inspirational challenges. For Fridays which are Flashback Fridays, there will an updated sketch from the archived sketches to bring on a new challenge. Loads of fun and inspiration from this blog.

Today is Wednesday and it’s Pattern Challenge – Chevron! So the challenge is to create a layout with chevron pattern incorporated into it.

March Pattern Challenge March 2nd

I created a wedding layout with lots of die-cutting.

"Beautiful" Wedding Scrapbook Layout

I had two sheets of patterned paper with chevrons – one black and kraft chevron paper, and another teal and kraft paper. The kraft color will not go well with my other patterned paper, so I fussy cut the teal chevron pieces and adhered it onto the kraft part of the paper on the black and kraft paper. I used foam tape to make the chevron pieces stand out a little bit more. I did trimmed the black piece a little smaller to make sure the teal chevron pieces fit better. Then I spritzed some pearly spray to make the background more shiny. (unfortunately it’s hard to capture on photo)

Then I went a little bit overboard with diecutting the flowers using Sizzix Tim Holtz Tattered Florals die and the leaves from Crate Paper Maggie Holmes Confetti die. I added the flowers as a frame to my picture.  Die-cutting can be addictive (lol)!

Here are some close ups:

"Beautiful" Wedding Scrapbook Layout"Beautiful" Wedding Scrapbook Layout

Supplies:  Cardstock: (white) American Crafts     Patterned Paper: (chevron) Craft Smith, (flowers) DCWV    Stickers: (alphabets) American Crafts, (pearl) Recollections    Die: (flowers) Sizzix Tim Holtz Tattered Florals, (leaves) Crate Paper Maggie Holmes Confetti    Ink: Old Paper Distress ink

I hope you will stop by Scrapbook Challenges and check out the different challenges and there are more inspiration there too! I hope you will give this challenge a try and we would love to see your creations linked up!

Thanks for stopping by and Happy crafting!

Leave a Comment

