Sketch N Scrap #98 Layout Sketch – Scrapping Vintage Photos

Hello everyone! It’s already February – can’t believe we are entering the second month of the year already!

Today over at the Sketch N Scrap blog, we have a layout sketch designed by Heather Hall. It’s really easy and fun to use to kick start creativity.

Sketch N Sketch #98

I decided to use this sketch to scrap some childhood photos.

couch antics scrapbook layout

I added some machine stitching. Honestly, I have a love-hate relationship with my sewing machine. I use my sewing machine for scrapbook layouts and cards. I just stitched two layers of thin patterned papers only but I break the sewing machine needle quite often.  I need to ‘troubleshoot’ it. As you can see, the left lower area of the page of the stitching is a little bit weird. I stitched the other sides with no problem then somehow at that area it went weird on me and the needle broke twice! But it’s okay. Handmade things are not meant to be perfect and I will persevere on and learn to tackle the problem. If you have any advice for me, please leave me a comment! One of my scrapbooking goals this year is definitely to include more machine stitching. I just love the added texture with stitching on the page.

Here are some closeup pictures:

Couch Antics scrapbook layout closeup machine stitchingCouch Antics scrapbook layout closeup machine stitching

I chose warm colors (patterned papers are from My Mind’s Eye Lost and Found collection) for this layout, as photos from the 80s are of a warmer tone. After the stitching, I ruffled up the edges of the pages for more textural effects since it’s a little more towards the vintage-y theme layout. I punched some hearts from Martha Stewart Confetti Hearts punch to embellish around the page. I made the “instant happiness” labels from Project Life cards ( Cinnamon edition). I layered the layout onto green cardstock and then onto white cardstock. I just wanted a little bit of the cardstock borders showing.

I hope you will hop over to Sketch N Scrap for more design team inspiration and I also hope that you will join us in playing along the sketches. I look forward to see your projects linked up!

Thanks for stopping by and Happy crafting!

4 thoughts on “Sketch N Scrap #98 Layout Sketch – Scrapping Vintage Photos

Leave a Comment

