Sketch N Scrap Layout Sketch #94 and DIY texture paste recipe

Hello everyone! It’s DECEMBER! I am so excited – I really do love December – anticipating the holidays; decorating the tree; setting up the lights outside the house; baking; shopping, etc. Lots to do!

Anyways –  today for Sketch N Scrap Layout Sketch #94, I wanted to share a mixed media layout.

Today’s sketch is designed by Heather Hall on the Sketch N Scrap blog.

dec 1st

Isn’t it a lovely sketch! I think it’s also perfect for a holiday layout!

For my layout – I am sharing a photo I took of my brother in law in the kitchen. It was just so rare that he is wearing an apron (a cartoon apron too) and helping out to cook dinner. He actually didn’t want to wear the apron. We made him! lol It was such a great memory to document.

Chef of the year scrapbook layout

  • I cut an 11×11 inch mixed media paper (from the Strathmore 300 series).
  • I added some texture paste with a tiny square stencil (from Plaid). I actually used homemade texture paste. I will share later the recipe I use for my homemade texture paste.
  • Then I added some DIY spray mist (coral,red, yellow) once the texture paste is dry.
  • Then I added some ink splatters. I used Walnut ink distress ink and added lots of water. Once on the page, I use a straw to blow the splatter to create movement.
  • Once it’s dry, I stamped the sentiment ‘Single Moments make great memories” from Kaisercraft Antique Bazaar Stamp set with Hero Arts ‘cup of joe’ ink.
  • I embellished the page with some gears that I made out of hot glue from the Industrial Mod Podge Mod molds. One of my favourite technique is making embellishments out of hot glue with silicone molds. You can customised those embellishments any colours you like. Usually acrylic paint works the best for me.
  • I added my title using October Afternoon Mini Market alphabet stickers.
  • I added some jute twine for extra texture and dimension.

Here are some close up photos:

close up of the texture paste and spray mist and ink splatters

close up of the texture paste and spray mist

close up of the gears and ink splatters

There are many homemade texture paste recipes out there but I just tweak it to make it the way I like it. It is very easy and cheap to make your own.

DIY Texture Paste Recipe

  • 1/4 cup of talcum powder (or baby powder)
  • 1 tbsp of glue ( I used Aleene’s tacky glue)
  • 1 tbsp of white paint
  • Add water till desired consistency

You can also using baking soda but I preferred the baby powder because it’s smoother and smells great!

For my DIY Spray Mist – I actually use the Tulip Tie dye packs. The dye comes in powder form. I just add a little bit of powder into my spray bottle and add water. You can get the prettiest colors and it will last you forever.

I hope you enjoyed today’s post and remember to stop by the Sketch N Scrap blog to check out what the other design team members had prepared for you! Hope that you will join us with the sketch challenge. Looking forward to see your creations linked up!

Leave me a comment if you have any questions or just to say Hi! Thanks for stopping by and Happy Crafting!

4 thoughts on “Sketch N Scrap Layout Sketch #94 and DIY texture paste recipe

Leave a Comment

