DIY November Scrapbooking Kit

Hello everyone! Today I want to share my November homemade scrapbooking kit. It’s been a while since I build my own stash kit because I had been traveling.  So it’s really nice to be able to dig into my stash again. This month I am inspired by the Counterfeit Kit Challenge blog – they chose to counterfeit the beautiful Cedar Lane Collection.

CLtop

What caught my eye were the floral papers. I just love florals – and it so happens I had two in my stash.

Crate Paper floral paper

from Crate Paper – Portrait Collection

Shimelle True Stories Floral Paper

from Shimelle – True Stories Collection

I couldn’t decide which to include so I build two separate sets using these two papers as a starting point.  From those floral papers, I pick patterned papers that will go well with the colors/tones or the colors in the floral paper itself. Then I look for similar style but different blends of motifs/geometrical shapes such as circles or flourishes or triangles to complement each other. I also try to include neutrals so that it will be a good balance of busy and non-busy papers.

Set #1 DIY scrapbooking kit

Set #1 of papers – Patterned papers from Crate Paper Flea Market Collection, My Mind”s Eye Bohemian Collection, My Mind’s Eye Street Market Collection, My Mind’s Eye Lost and Found Christmas Collection, Pressed Petals Collection, Neutral Cardstock from Craft Smith

Set #2 DIY scrapbooking kit

Set #2 Papers from Shimelle’s True Stories Collection, Crate Paper Flea Market Collection, Craft Smith

Patterned Papers for November Kit

This is what they all looked like when put together. They sort of blend together – florals, motifs, geometric shapes but I do prefer them in their individual set that I put together.

Embellishments stash Kit

For my embellishments, I tried looking for things that are of similar colors, ie teal, blues, yellows, reds, corals. I put together some 4×6 and 3×4 pocket cards (from We r Memory Keepers Tangerine collection and Shimelle’s True Stories). I added also some stamps, dies and ink. I also included some twine, wood venrers, brads and random diecuts from Crate Paper. I wanted to use the leftover stickers from Heidi Swapp and also try out the Becky Higgins Project Life Photo Overlays.

November Homemade Kit

DIY November Scrapbooking Kit

I will post my layouts/cards as I use this kit throughout November. Definitely there will be lots of fun and trying out different challenges from different blogs. Maybe you would like to give kit making from your stash a try! Thanks for stopping by and Happy crafting!

18 thoughts on “DIY November Scrapbooking Kit

  1. How great that your two sets of paper coordinate so well even though you chose them based off two very distinctive papers. I really like that first floral from Crate Paper – so pretty. You’ve added a great grouping of embellishments too – hope you have a very successful month using your kit!

    Like

  2. It looks like a great kit – those are two amazing florals. I’ll be watching to see if you mix the papers up a bit when using them or not. Enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Comment

