Nicholson’s Peerless Watercolors Color Swatch & Derwent Inktense Blocks Color Swatch

Hello everyone! First of all, I am so sorry for not posting anything for two weeks. Things have gotten a little bit busy with life and some traveling. Today I wanted to share how I organized my Peerless watercolors. I really liked the Peerless watercolors because they are so vibrant and it is not chalky or rub off when it’s dry. I have this thing about touching my artwork when it’s done and I really don’t like it when it rubs off with my finger. ( I am weird that way :p)

I store my Peerless watercolors in this DIY booklet that I made.

peerless watercolors album

This is what it looks like on the inside.

Peerless Watercolors organization

I bought the Complete Edition Book (15 colors) and the Joanne Palette Colors (15 colors). They have many more different sets. They come in color sheets sized at 2.5″x 6.5″. The color is coated on one side of a special paper fabric that gives out the color when it comes into contact with water or any soluble mixture. The sheets are so intense and saturated with colors which is why it’s good to have color swatch to see what the color really looks like when you use it.

For my booklet, I cut the color sheets down to 4″ x 2.5″. I use watercolor paper and also made a color swatch of how it would look like from darkest to lightest. On each page, I also attached a piece of acetate to prevent the colors from mixing with washi tape. I labeled the colors by printing on my Avery ID Labels.

I made a color swatch of the Peerless watercolors as well as the Prima watercolor pencils (the Basic set) on the left. On the right, is a color swatch of the Derwent Inktense Blocks. I decided to compile all the color swatches together to give a better idea of all the colors I have, which then makes it easier to work on my projects.

Peerless and derwent inktense blocks

I recently purchased the Derwent Inktense Blocks.

image

They can certainly be used as watercolors, but they are made from different properties – they are ink-based. So the colors doesn’t mix or react again when it has been dried like watercolors.

I followed a youtube tutorial by Rebekah R Jones to make this Peerless booklet for organization. Check it out here. It is a very good tutorial. I followed the tutorial and modify it a little bit to suit my needs.

The color swatch chart I used for my Derwent Inktense Blocks was originally from DarleneDesign.com She has shared it on her blog with Inktense Pencils. The Inktense Pencils and Inktense Blocks has the same color names and only slightly different. The pencils has 2400 Outliner which is a grey where the blocks set has 1215 Turquoise blue. So I modify the chart slightly for my Inktense Blocks chart.

For those interested in the color swatch chart, I included the download link which you can make your own.

InktenseChart72 – Inktense Pencils 72 (from DarleneDesign.com)

InktenseBlockChart72 – Inktense Blocks 72 (which I modified)

peerless – Peerless color swatch of Complete Edition and Joanne Palette Colors set

I hope this post is helpful to you. Looking forward to create more projects with these art supplies. Stay tune as this week I will share my DIY art journal using the same video tutorial! Thanks for stopping by and Happy crafting!

Leave a Comment

