“Today is a good day”

Today is really a good day! A great autumn day – nice, cool sunny weather; leaves are slowly changing color and falling.. it’s so beautiful. Today I have a card to share; it’s a card you would want to send to a crafty friend!

today is a good day card

Isn’t it a lovely card to celebrate a good day and also to encourage a crafty friend to embrace creativity and create endlessy! How I made the card:

  1. Start with a white cardstock 3″x4″. I used the coffee cup stamp from the Tim Holtz Stamptember 2015 stamp set from Simon Says Stamp. I stamped the image with Ranger Jet Black ink because it’s a waterproof ink.
  2. I colored the image with distress inks. I press them on my acrylic blocks as a palette.  It turned out pretty cool because I was mixing colors to get that effect. I used Cracked Pistachio mixed with Crushed Olive. For the cup, I used Fossilized Amber mixed with Walnut Stain. For the sleeve I used Abandoned Coral mixed with Worn lipstick. And the whipped cream, I diluted the leftover Walnut Stain ink to a very light brown. As for the base of the cup, I just add the left over brown color inks. It’s pretty fun to do, adding lighter and darker shades here and there.
  3. After the image is dry, I added Glossy Accents to the whole stamped imaged for a more glossy finish and added dimension. (It didnt show up on the photo sorry!)
  4. Then I used a scrap piece patterned paper with coffee cups from Shimelle Collection True Stories from American Crafts to add onto the cup. How perfect is that for the card!
  5. Then I cut the banner “embrace creativity” from the same paper collection and added alphabet sticks from October Afternoon to complete the sentiment.
  6. I adhered all the pieces onto a black A2 card base. Since I used white regular cardstock for the colored imaged, it was warped, so remember to put lots of adhesive to straighten it out.

I just loved this stamp set and am excited to be experimenting more watercolor techniques with it. This card is inspired by a challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge – Use a stamp. Check out the blog for lots of fantastic inspiration!

Thanks for stopping by and Happy crafting!

2 thoughts on ““Today is a good day”

Leave a Comment

