August Homemade/Counterfeit Scrapbooking Kit x2 and DIY embellishments from Project Life cards

Hello! Today I would like to share my homemade scrapbooking kit from my stash of supplies. I drew inspiration from the Counterfeit Kit Challenge (CKC) blog. This month, they are counterfeiting Scrappy Canary June kit – a kit that focused on the travel theme.

How I usually start to build my kit is I usually look at the colors and pattern of the papers in the kit CKC chose to counterfeit. But this time, I started with this map paper I had in my stash which is perfect for the travel theme. You may have seen me used in my other layouts because I had it in my July kit. I had two of the same paper as I buy paper pads.They usually have two of the same papers in a pad.

map paper

august counterfeit kit

So I chose the papers that will coordinate with the map patterned paper, mostly based on the colors, ie blues, greens, greys, yellows. So that’s 10 sheets of patterned papers down.

Then the pretty chevron paper caught my eye from the Scrappy Canary kit. I know I don’t have such large chevrons paper, but I have a vintage smaller chevron paper in my stash. This sheet of paper had teal, red, green, yellow in it.

chevron paper

So I went and look for papers that will coordinate with this sheet of paper. I chose 18 sheets altogether.

august kit 2

As for embellishments, I decided to go DIY again. I have a lot of Project Life cards to last me three lifetime probably. So I need to use some up in my layouts. I decided to make my embellishments out of those. I took a few 3×4 cards from the Project Life Cinnamon core kit; mainly the filler cards. These cards are mostly neutral tones that can go well with the papers above.

project life to make embellishments

 I grabbed a few punches and dies that can cut out some of the words on the cards.tools for diy embellishments

 Here are some of the diecuts and punched outs. Most likely I will make different ones to add on from the papers as I make the layouts.

diy embellishments

Therefore, this month’s kit, I made 2 kits with very different theme. One is a travel theme based and another more vintage-y kit. Looking forward to use it! I didnt add any alphas to the kit as I usually create titles halfway through my layouts. It would be easier to pull them out when I need them.

Thanks for stopping by. Leave me a comment if you have any questions, and I will try answer it! I hope you will try create your own version of scrapbooking kit. Happy crafting!

8 thoughts on “August Homemade/Counterfeit Scrapbooking Kit x2 and DIY embellishments from Project Life cards

  1. Love what you did with those Project Life cards – what a great idea to use them! I’ve got a lot of them too so I will probably give this a try. I like both your kits and that chevron paper you used to make your second one is especially pretty.

    Like

  2. I’m calling your August counterfeit “Double Trouble” 🙂
    Love that you took the inspiration where it led you, to two different sets of goodies.
    Can’t wait to see where those PL bits turn up!
    PS – I think you are hooked with the kit making. It’s been fun to see your creativity each month.

    Like

  3. Ooh, these are some super fun kits! The travel theme, plus the vintage ‘feel’ colours and the graphical patterns, remind me a little of steampunk. I love it!

    Like

  4. I too have lifetimes’ worth of PL cards, and started doing the very same thing with mine this week too. I like that you added a second kit of vintage feel this month – you’ll have more options that way. Scrap on!

    Like

  5. Fantastic kit this month and I love your forgeries 🙂 hmmmm I have the cinnamon PL kit oh I just might have to get that out and do some forging too 🙂

    Like

  6. Really impressive kits! I love the way you took your inspiration and make those two papers the focus of your other pieces – just super. That map paper is fantastic! Which company is it?!? Great idea with the PL cards and with just a few dies, you’ve created some wonderful elements. It’s so lovely to have you on board again this month – you are really inspiring!

    Like

Leave a Comment

