Cards, Cards, Cards…

Hello! Happy 4th of July/weekend! Today I want to share several cards I made for fun; some inspired by some sketches and challenges. I realized I have not been making cards lately so I made a bunch over the weekend.. although you will see that some are similar in styles;

1

You made my day card

I made this card inspired by Virginia’s View Challenge:100% Stamped. I stamped the background with an EK Success floral stamp repeatedly with different colors of Waffle Flower Crafts petal point inks. (#16, #9, #6,#5). I stamped the sentiment “Single moments make great memories” with #14 petal ink then I stamped slightly offset with black archival ink for more interest. I used Hero Arts Thanks Stamp & Cut for my sentiment “you made my day” to complete my sentiment of the card. I think it is a bright and colorful summer card.

2

Superstar card

I made the background of this card using texture paste which I colored with some turquoise paint. I diecut the flower from the Spellbinders Lotus Die. (Save the negative white cardstock panel for another project-Scroll down) I stamped the ‘superstar’ from a Heidi Swapp stamp set and added a clear epoxy sticker to make it pop. I then added some gems for some extra bling. I used a sketch designed by Kelly Hollifield over at Sketch~N~Scrap for my source of inspiration to make this card and also inspired by a challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge:Let’s go Dotty.

3

Baby congrats card

I loved the blue polka dot texture paste background so I made another card with it. I made a baby boy card with similar style; finished with ribbon and gems. I heat-embossed my sentiment with white embossing powder on blue vellum paper. It is the Teeny Tiny stamp set from Fiskars. I stapled the sentiment with blue staples on to a white cardstock strip.

4

thinking of you card

I made the ombre background using watercolors. I used my Peerless watercolors – daffodil yellow, golden yellow, orange yellow and sepia brown. The colors blend much better with watercolor paper. I used Martha Stewart silkscreen stencil -English garden for the flower with Ranger black soot distress ink. I really like the silkscreen stencils. It gives a very smooth effect.

5

Happy Birthday card

I made a birthday card using Spellbinders Labels 24 die. I heat-embossed the flower from My Mind’s Eye ‘She said’ stamp set with white embossing powder. I added a brad for the center of the flower. I stamped “Happy Birthday” from the Stampendous Birthday Wish stamp set on pink vellum paper and stapled it using pink staples. Unfortunately my colored staples are hard to photograph.

6

Superstar- You are amazing card

“Superstar-you are amazing” card is pretty similar in style as my other cards shared above. First I used the negative diecut piece of cardstock (from the “Superstar” card above). Then I die cut again with the Lotus die with a scrap of patterned paper in my stash and pop-up the diecut on the white panel with foam tape. I stamped the “superstar” from Heidi Swapp stamp with #6 Waffleflower ink. I stamped “you are amazing” from Hero Arts Thanks Stamp & Cut set with the same color cardstock as my cardbase. I also added ribbon and red gems for finishing touches.

7
1-IMG_8854

Last but not least, this card is made with the scraps of patterned paper I had leftover from my June homemade scrapbook kit. I punched out the circle “love this moment” from a Project Life card (Cinnamon Edition) as part of my sentiment. I stamped “you made my day” from the same Hero Arts Thanks stamp& cut set on pink vellum.  I did make my card using an inspiration from a sketch designed by Julee Tilman on Mojo Monday #404 blog.

 Mojo404.gif (319×521)

Seven cards to share this weekend! Hope you liked my cards. Check out the blogs I linked for more inspiration and maybe play along? Making cards is quite fun… I hope you will try making some! I sometimes make a bunch of cards and then see who I can send it out to brighten someone’s day. It is also a good idea to have some cards on hand for some “emergency” occasion. You never know when you need a card!

Thanks for stopping by and Happy crafting!

Leave a Comment

