Bokeh-ful “I like you a Latte” card

Today I have a fun card to share. It’s a “bokeh” effect card. Pronounced as “Boh-Kay”, a photography term where the image is blur or an out of focus part of an image produced by the lens. I don’t have the special camera or lens, so I don’t really know how that works. But to put the bokeh effect on a card, it is really easy!

bokeh i like you a latte card

Here is how I made my card:

bokeh i like you a latte card

I used my EK Success powder tool against the white cardstock (3.75″x 5″) to remove any static since I am going to do some heat embossing. I stamped my mug from Hero Arts Need Caffeine stamp set, and also the sentiment is from Hero Arts Stamp & Cuts Thanks set with my VersaMark ink. Then I heat embossed the image with Judikins Black Opal embossing powder.

bokeh i like you a latte card

I masked the mug image with Elmers rubber cement so the ink will not get onto the image. I wanted the foam and the phrase ‘I like you a latte’ on my mug to remain white. I used the following distress inks: Squeezed Lemonade, Dried marigold, Worn Lipstick and Shabby Shutters and blend the colors onto the card. I did start with the lighter colors first. I wanted to achieve the warm tones of evening sun colors.

bokeh i like you a latte card

This is the fun part. I use my Plaid circle stencils for the bokeh effect. I use a white pigment ink by Ranger and just dab the ink with the stencil around the card. This stencil is perfect because it has different size circles. If you don’t have a stencil, just punch different size circles on a transparency film or just paper to make your own stencil. Then rubbed off the masking from the Elmers rubber cement. It just rubs off with my finger. Then wipe off excess ink from the embossed area. Take a black cardstock, 8.5″ by 5.5″ and score it on 4.25″ on the 8.5′” long side to make the card base. I mounted my card panel with foam tape on the card base.

bokeh i like you a latte card

bokeh i like you a latte card

I am playing along:

Since I take my photos with my phone, there is an app called “Bokehful” which I use just to play with the bokeh effects. Mostly I just send these pictures to family and friends for fun. I have not tried printing these photos yet, so I am not sure what it looks like.

Here is a sample picture when I use the app:

bokehful pic

You can change the color scheme and shape too.

bokehful rainbow pic

Pretty cool and fun right? I am sure people had made really beautiful bokeh effects photos and not what I just showed you. lol I need more practice

Anyways.. thanks for stopping by and Happy crafting.

46 thoughts on “Bokeh-ful “I like you a Latte” card

  1. Love this bokeh effect. And those colors work so well together to give this a summertime feel. And that cup is amazing. Thanks for sharing the tip about the rubber cement too. Wonderful card.

    Like

Leave a Comment

