“Floral Bloom” – Counterfeit Kit Challenge June 2015

I have been following this blog – Counterfeit Kit Challenge (CKC) since January this year but I never attempted at making my own kit. They challenge you to make a kit based on whatever you already have on hand in your stash of scrapbooking supplies. I loved seeing all these great ideas and wonderful creations every month but I never made a kit for myself or subscribe to any kit. Before I actually start a layout, each time, it takes me forever to pull out papers that work together.

This month I decide to challenge myself and try to make a kit out of my stash. I hope this will actually decrease the time choosing papers by half so I can spend more time creating than spending all that time sorting and see what papers goes with what.

This month CKC chose Basic Grey’s New Collections. I don’t have any of the papers but the collection is so pretty. I particularly love the Tea Garden Collection. I just loved all the florals. So I found in my stash loads of FLORAL papers. I am calling my kit “Floral Bloom” or “Floral Frenzy”. I don’t know. Which name do you like?  It’s a little bit more vintagey, shabby chic, springy colors and patterns but I think it’s perfect for this time of the year and it’s about time to put to use since I have been hoarding those papers forever.

Counterfeit kit challenge June

I started with 14 papers from the DCWV The French Country Stack paper pad. Some of these papers are treated with glitter. Super shiny!! Note the busy florals and patterns, which is why I find it hard to use.

Counterfeit kit challenge June

I added some papers from My Mind’s Eye Lost and Found collection which I think can go well together with the DCWV papers.

Counterfeit kit challenge JuneThen I added some neutral papers from Heidi Swapp No Limits Collection.

Counterfeit kit challenge June

I also added some more neutral papers from Donna-Salazar Antiquities line. I think with such busy florals, I need a lot more neutrals to balance it out. I might pull some neutral cardstock later if needed when I make layouts, we shall see!

Counterfeit kit challenge June

This is what all the papers look like. I hope I can use these ups in my layouts. A total of 22 papers. Most of these papers are single-sided. I use papers to make embellishments anyway, so I think it should be ok. Hopefully.

Counterfeit kit challenge JuneI also added some accessories to my kit – American Craft Dear Lizzy Serendipity stencil (Basic grey tea garden also had a floral stencil), Amy Tan alphabets embroidery stencil and We R Memory Keepers Sew Easy Script Template. I use the stitching templates in most of my layouts and I want to remember to use the stencil (which I have not use since I bought it). I decided to add embellishments as I make my layouts since I usually include my dies to make my own. (Die cuts are also CKC challenge #1)

I will post on my blog as I use this kit for my layouts! Thanks for stopping by and Happy crafting!

20 thoughts on ““Floral Bloom” – Counterfeit Kit Challenge June 2015

  1. So pleased that you have joined in after watching from the wings 🙂
    Your kit is very well done from the inspiration & with good consideration on how you will use it.
    I love the beautiful stencil! and enjoy that you use stitching on your pages.
    I’m off to look at your blog! Again, welcome to CKC.

    Like

  2. We picked the same kit to counterfeit this month. You’re right about the neutrals being a great way to offset the bold florals and make them easier to use. The floral stencil was a perfect addition to your kit, and if you’re still taking opinions on the name, I vote for Floral Frenzy. I think it matches all the fun and bright papers you pulled for your kit. Hope you enjoy using it!

    Like

  3. Oooo, aaahh. Your kit looks even richer than the original. And welcome to the thoroughly addicting endeavor of counterfeiting kits. We’re looking forward to seeing your work.

    Like

  4. Floral Frenzy sounds perfect to me. We LOVE it when someone new jumps in and gets going in the Counterfeiting way. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do and really enjoy using up all your own stash that you love so much that you bought 🙂

    Your first kit is a winner for sure! Look at all those gorgeous colours – so rich and vibrant – and so clever to include some neutrals as contrast. Perfect thinking. I also like how you know that you make your own embellies from papers so your embelllie add on is small but perfect to meet you own needs! A great start by the look of it.

    Once again, delighted to have you join in this month!

    Like

  5. Welcome! So glad you took the plunge and started to counterfeit with us. You created a great kit inspired by the Tea Garden collection. That French Country collection is really piquing my interest.

    Like

Leave a Comment

