“Remember that..” card share

Sometimes I find it hard to craft; be it a card or a scrapbook layout. I feel that I have no idea or no inspiration. There are times where I just feel like I have lost my crafting mojo. I more or less craft everyday actually.So, sometimes it is a little bit hard for me to start on a project. Sometimes I just stare at the empty page/paper for a really long time before sometimes gets done. That is why I like sketches or draw inspiration from other fantastic crafty people when they share on their blogs, Pinterest and other social media. But really, just get started is my best tip.. just start cutting papers, or dab some ink, or bring out a bunch of stamps and play around. A great work of art will be created somehow.

As I was browsing for ideas, I clicked on a few blogs and I found website called Mojo Monday! (what a perfect name) It is a weekly card sketch challenge to get people to be inspired and get creative. This week is their #400 sketch designed by Julee Tilman. That is a lot of sketches ~amazing~!

Here is my card based on the sketch:

 distress inks background remember you are awesome card

This is the #400 sketch:

How I made my card:

distress inks background remember you are awesome card distress inks background re

Die-cut the largest star circle with Spellbinders Star Circles die at an angle of the side. Then inked the background with distress inks to create an ombre pink/purple background. Then spritz some DIY mist of water and Perfect Pearls for a more blended look and shiny background. I also loved the water droplets effect when water mixed with distress ink.

distress inks background remember you are awesome card distress inks background remember you are awesome card

Then I stamped the brush strokes stamped from Pink Paislee Color Wash with Waffle Flower inks on the die-cut circle. Then I sprayed some water on the leftover ink on the stamp, and paint the background with the same color to have a more blended look. I used different sentiments from Hero Arts Stamp&Cut Thanks & Happy set, My Mind’s Eye Beautiful stamp set. I used the dots stamp and the stitch line stamp to make bullet points for my sentiment. Then I used Glossy accents to add glitter to the bullet points.I sealed the glitter with glossy accents again so it will not rub off and also give a dimensional 3-D bullet points.

distress inks background remember you are awesome card

After that, I used We R Memory Keepers Sew Easy Script template. I used black embroidery floss as I want to mount my panel onto black cardstock.

distress inks background remember you are awesome card

I added sequins surrounding the circle to make it stand out more as that would be my focal point of my card so I left the background quite simple. I adhered the background piece with foam tape and adhered the star circle flat on the card to give different dimension.

Here is a close up picture:

distress inks background remember you are awesome card

distress inks background remember you are awesome card

Supplies used:

  • Distress Inks: Tattered Rose, Worn Lipstick, Victorian Velvet, Milled Lavender
  • Hero Arts Stamp&Cuts- “Happy”and “Thanks”
  • My Mind’s Eye Beautiful Stamp set
  • Pink Paislee Color Wash stamp set
  • Spellbinders Star Circles
  • pink sequins, pink glitter
  • Glossy accents
  • We R Memory Keepers Sew Easy Script Template
  • Black embroidery floss
  • Ranger Archival Ink – Watering Can
  • Ranger Perfect Pearls
  • Waffle Flower Petal Inks Spring& Summer blend : #16, #4, #5

Hope you can find time to make a card for a friend or two to remind how amazing they are in your life!

Although this is my first time playing over at Mojo Monday, I would love to be considered for their team.

Thanks for stopping by. Happy crafting.

2 thoughts on ““Remember that..” card share

Leave a Comment

