Punches and Shaker Cards

Ever since I discover my love for shaker cards, I am constantly trying to look for ways to make them differently with the crafty tools I already have in my stash. Today I would like to share a Thank you card using punches.

Thanks shaker card using Martha stewart cut and fold petal punch

I made my card based on a card sketch at Sketch~N~Sketch, and also I was inspired at Simon Monday Challenge: Thank you cards.

Briefly on how I made my card:

Thanks shaker card using Martha stewart cut and fold petal punch tutorial stepbystep

  1. Take a piece of 6″ x 6″ double-sided pattern paper, a 4″x4″ inch pattern paper and a card base of 5.5″ x 5.5″.
  2. To ensure the punched design is centered on the paper, draw a line 1.25″ horizontally and a line 3″ vertically. Make sure the cut& fold punch arrows lined up perfectly with the lines drawn. Then punch following the markings on the punch by moving the punch anti-clockwise.
  3. That is what the punched design should look like when finished.
  4. Fold back the flaps and tuck them under the un-punched sections to get the flower effect.
  5. Prepare the shaker pouch with old packaging and the Hotmarks tool. I used gold and brown sequins, peach flower-shaped squins and some tinsel glitter.
  6. I used foam tape to allow more room for the shaker contents to move about and also to add more dimension to the card.

Thanks shaker card using Martha stewart cut and fold petal punch and hero arts thanks

Then I diecut the sentiment “thanks” from Hero Arts Stamps & Cuts set 6 times so that my sentiment had more dimension. I also used Martha Stewart butterfly punch to embellish the card with small butterflies.

Here are more pictures of the card:

Thanks shaker card using Martha stewart cut and fold petal punchThanks shaker card using Martha stewart cut and fold petal punch

The tinsel glitter did cling to the plastic sheet due to the static but you can still see the background and the sequins here and there when you shake the card.

Since I enjoyed punching the the paper so much, I made another card. A really colorful one.

Thanks shaker card using Martha stewart cut and fold petal punch

Thanks shaker card using Martha stewart cut and fold petal punch

Supplies used:

  • Martha Stewart Cut and Fold Punch – Petals
  • Martha Stewart Medium Punch 3-in-1 Butterfly
  • Papers My Mind’s Eye Boy Crazy 6×6 paper pad
  • We R Memory Keepers Corner Chomper -Scallop
  • Ek Success Circle Scissors
  • Hero Arts Stamp & Cuts Thanks

I often make “Thank you” cards for the people in my life for their awesome-ness! Can’t thank them enough.

Thanks for stopping by! Happy crafting!

22 thoughts on “Punches and Shaker Cards

  1. Oh my, this is such an awesome idea! I LOVE your cards, the colorful one is my favorite, but I tend to love brighter colors! Thanks for sharing how you did this, that punch looks wonderful! Thanks for joining us at Sketch N Scrap!

    Like

  2. Love this so much! Really such a cute card, and loving your how-to as well. Thank you for joining us this week at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge blog!

    Like

  3. Beautiful card! Thanks for sharing how you did it. I don’t speak English very well and I don’t understand how you stamped and cut the word ‘thanks’. I like it. Thanks for joining us at Sketch N Scrap.
    Surama

    Like

    • Thank you Surama! I used just the “thanks’ die from the set and die cut the sentiment with my cuttlebug 6 times and glue it all together to get the raised dimension. So sorry I didn’t include a picture! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment!

      Like

Leave a Comment

